Discover Borgomaro and surroundings
Borgomaro is the main town at the bottom of the Maro valley. It is the first part of the Impero valley. After the Trexenda stream joins the waters of the Maro at Santo Lazzaro Reale, it becomes the Impero stream. It is called with this name because its course winds through the “Imperial” domains, established by the Emperor, and it gives its name to the coastal city of Imperia, founded by the union of Oneglia, Porto Maurizio and some minor municipalities in 1923. The placename “Maro” is a Ligurian term, which predates the presence of the Romans. It refers to water, or “Macra”. In fact, there are also the rivers Magra and Maira in the north-west of Italy.
The municipality of Borgomaro has around 900 inhabitants, including the outlying hamlets. The built-up areas are surrounded by the green of the countryside and the woods. Here, silence and peace reign. The streams run calmly and only swell when it rains, becoming charming in their own way.
This is also the kingdom of extra-virgin olive oil from Taggiasca olives, which is linked to a very varied and appetising cuisine. This land is not lacking in typical traditions and festivals that involve the populations of the whole Maro area.
The settlement was built on a grid of regularly spaced streets, with the houses arranged in a checkerboard pattern. As a matter of fact, this was a settlement controlled and planned under the regime of the Lascaris. Mills and presses use the canals (“beudi”) that were built along the stream. There are also some important buildings within the town, such as the palazzo in the shape of a tower, with a portal and mullioned windows, built during the time of the Ventimiglia and which was later the residence of the marquis of Doria, dating back to 1481. Along the main street, one may see ancient shops and good quality stone decorations on the walls.There is the church of Sant’Antonio Abate: its latest appearance is seventeenth century, embellished with stuccoes, paintings, marble altars inlaid with Ticino mouldings, a splendid eighteenth-century marble pulpit and the triptych of the Road to Calvary and the Saints Nazario and Celso, which comes from the parish church of the same name by Raffaele and Giulio de Rossi (XVI century). But what makes the church of Borgomaro special is our parish priest, Father Massimo.
Always ready to listen and to give comfort to those who need it, in church but also over a good plate of ravioli….
The village of bridges
Borgomaro is also rich of bridges, palace from the 18° century ( like the Amelio Palace, now town hall), of small oratory and a franciscan monastery with a church rich of pieces of art, now a nursing home. The Carabinieri has thir station here from 1825. Borgomaro can be considered a real “capital” of the Imperia’s hinterland. You cannot miss to visit Borgomaro